Nawab Manzil I

nmazil_lounge


My favourite uncle at his home: Nawab
Mazil

From time to time we used to visit our relatives in Baroda. Back then in the 30s it was the capital of the princely state of the Maratha kingdom of Gaekwad. Our relatives came from the nawab family who ruled Baroda before it was conquered by the Marathas. They were a joint family of three brothers living together under the same roof in the traditional Indian manner at their grand home called Nawab Mazil.

Nawab Manzil was the opulent family home which housed our relatives and an array of staff – cooks, valets, sweepers and butlers, alongside accountants and secretaries. It was a sprawling and spacious residence. You entered it through a high wooden gate and the front was supported by impressive wooden pillars, painted in soft yellows and greens. There was an inner courtyard and extensive garden plus a majestic staircase leading to the bedrooms. It sparkled at night time, lit by gas lamps.

My three uncles were poles apart in their demeanor, character, habits and thinking. The oldest was Aminuddin Hussain Khan, the middle one Moizuddin Hussain Khan and then was my favourite: Fakhruddin Hussain Khan who we called Dr. Uncle or Chote Manmoon Sahib (younger uncle). All the three were highly intelligent but each had his own leanings and a different sense of humour. When their father Nawab Sadruddin Hussain Khan was alive they led a life of affluence and aplomb. He was a landlord of some substance in those days. When the Maratha Gaekwads conquered Baroda and defeated the nawabs, a treaty was entered into which entitled the nawabs to substantial land ownership that included a number of villages. These holdings were scattered all over Gujarat and brought in a considerable income. Sadly my three uncles lost their father when in their teens.

kadris_nmanzil_web

On one of my early visits to Nawab Manzil   

We lived in Ahmedabad. My father had been married to the sister of these three uncles – though she died and he later married my mother. I have some vivid memories of my first visit to Nawab Manzil in 1932 when I was 5 and my brother Iftikhar was 3. We used to regularly go to Nawab Manzil during our school holidays. Baroda was 60 odd miles from Ahmedabad. We always travelled by railway train. Although our own bungalow in Ahmedabad had its own distinguished charm, we used to love the glamour of Nawab Manzil. We would revel in the sumptuous breakfasts and luxurious dinners – all prepared and served by an entourage of servants. These were lavish experiences which we all enjoyed as a large family. Breakfasts could go on for 1 to 2 hours with the uncles debating various topics from their divergent perspectives. They were more Anglocised than our family and it was at Nawab Manzil that I first discovered marmalade.

To be continued…

[Posted by Meena Kadri on behalf of her father, Munir Kadri. Photos supplied by Suhail Shaikh – Nawab Manzil descendent now living in Paris]
 

19 thoughts on “Nawab Manzil I

  1. Dear Sir, Dr Fakhruddin use to treat my father Mr. Amiruddin like his son. Dr Fakhruddin also arranged my father marriage at nawab manzil. I am so happy to see Dr. Fakhruddin. Also if i could see Ms. Alsi Begum and Ms. Wali Begum.

  2. How amazing you found your way here! I have pleasant memories of your father. Maybe we’ll have images of Wali and Else Aunty in future.

  3. My mum is Shamim Begum Kazi – daughter of Mohammed Hussain kazi, sister of Nasir Kazi If you (Miss Wali) remember her please reply. My mum lives in the USA. She talks all the time about Dr uncle, aunty and wali. She, Farida (daughter of pyari begum), Zaheda (my mums younger sister) used to play in your room.

  4. I am son of Anisabegum Daughter of Mir Masudali & Raisa begum of Moti manzil Baroda,My elder brother is living at London , Essex, I am at Surat, I have some memories of Baroda.

  5. <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style> </head> <body class=’hmmessage’> Dear Arshad<BR> It is interesting. Your name is not very familiar to me. However do you have any memories of Nawab Manzil ?. If so I will be very much interested in it. You have already read my memories of Nawab Manzil. Any thing to add ?. Where is or was Moti Manzil in Baroda?. What age group are you. I am 83 but have some vivid memories of Nawab Manzil<BR><BR><BR>  Munir <BR><BR><BR>&nbsp; <BR></body></html>

  6. <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style> </head> <body class=’hmmessage’> I do make a connection now. We have distant relationship with you through Afzal Apa of Saheswan who was married to my brother late Zahiruddin. Where do you live and what do you do?. I have been a Urologist at the local hospital here in Rotorua New Zealand. I am 83 years old. I retired from the hospital 19 years ago and had a sharp cut off. I now spend my time with Camputer, photography, reading and writing. Keeps me busy. Do keep in touch.<BR> I must locate and visit Moti Manzil when I am next in Baroda which will most probably be Feb. 2012. We visit India every year and are there from end of Nov. to the end of Feb. We spend most of the time in India with my brother Iftikhar in Bombay.<BR><BR><BR>  Munir <BR><BR><BR>&nbsp; <BR></body></html>

  7. Dear sir,I recently started my search about the history of my grandfather ( from my mothers side ) who was also a Nawab of Surat.His name was Nawab Mir Sijahuddin and was the son of Nawab Mir sadruddin kha ( Daria mahal Surat) my great grandfather. My grandfather had two son ( well three actually but one died at the age of six. The names of my two uncles is Sayed rafiuddin bakshi and Sayed nasaruddin bakshi. I was wondering if you had any information regarding my great grandfather, or my grandfather. Of if you can direct me so that I may investigation further.By way of introduction I was born in London, England but now live in New York. I would really, really appreciate your help. You website seems to be the closest potential link. Thank you

  8. <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style> </head> <body class=’hmmessage’> I am afraid I do not have any iformation about your grandfather or greatgrandfather. However I did know your grandfather. I am 83 years old and live in New Zealand. I have been here for the last 44 years. I am a Sugeon-Urologist, retired for the last 18 years.<BR> What is your e-mail address?.<BR> I do have a link with your family. My Nani Amman, who was married to my Nana Abba, Mohammed Ali Saleri, came from your family. Her name was Moammedi Begum. I do not know the exact relationship. They lived in Baroda. She had 3 sons. Sarfaraz Ali, Maulvi Mian and Hajimian. They are all dead now. Nani Amman immigrated to Pakistan and lived with Sarfaraz Ali, in Karachi. Do you know of the relationship she had with your family?.<BR><BR><BR>  Munir <BR><BR><BR>&nbsp; <BR></body></html>

  9. Dear sir,I have gone trough your MUNIRS MEMORY n understand our family connection with each other, I am also the member NAWAB FAMILY OF SURAT so if you have any query about my family you may contact me I AM THE GRANDSON OF MIR KHERUDDIN KHAN THE YOUNGER BROTHER OF MIR SADRUDDIN KHAN

  10. <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style> </head> <body class=’hmmessage’> Dear Naushad Nice to hear from you. Let me know your e-mail address. I would like to know about my Naniamman’s relationship to the Nawab’s of Surat, in the 1910s. Her name was Mohammadi Begum. She was married to my Nanaabba Mohammed Ali Saleri of Baroda. Can you throw some light as to what relationship Mohammadi Begum had with the Nawabs of Surat?. Munir <br>&nbsp;<BR></body></html>

  11. Nawab Manzil of Baroda, Gujarat is mentioned here. Could you please inform me of the exact address where this place is or was? I would like to visit the site no matter what stands there now. I am assuming Nawab Manzil was the official residence of the Nawabs of Baroda and not just one of many properties or their summer/winter residence.

  12. <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style> </head> <body class=’hmmessage’> The Nawab Manzil, has since been demolished and there is a commercial building there. The location is Nawab Bada, Vadodra. Yes it was the residence of the Nawab’s of Baroda. Munir Kadri<br>&nbsp;<p><BR></p></body></html>

  13. Dear Naushad bhai I AM THE GRANDDaughter OF MIR KHERUDDIN KHAN and Her wife Zebunnisa my father name was Shahjahan Kheruddin bakshi who was PI in surat since i dont have much information of my family as my father died when i was very young and i was brought up at my maternal uncle house. Some of my family members like my aunties Phupi SULTANA BEGUM ( PUTLI BAI), SURAIYA BEGUM ,NOOR JEHAN BEGUM, SHEZADI BEGUM (PAKISTAN ) MY UNCLE SADRUDDIN KHERUDDIN BAKSHI. I dont have much memories but my father use to talk much about Daria mahal as their residence much before. My cousin name is Naushad who is in Baroda.

  14. <html> <head> <style><!– .hmmessage P { margin:0px; padding:0px } body.hmmessage { font-size: 10pt; font-family:Tahoma } –></style> </head> <body class=’hmmessage’> I am afraid I can not give you any more information about your father. Your cousin Naushad in Baroda, may be able to find some. Munir <br>&nbsp;<p><BR></p></body></html>

  15. Sayama, Your Mum , Shamim Apa, I remember her very well. Also your grandparents, aunts and uncle. Your Nani was a wonderful cook and Shamim Apa has the same flair. We have had many good times going for picnics at Kamathi Baug and other family get-togethers. My uncle Nawab Moizuddin and aunt lived in Chote Kazi Sahab,s house , ground floor, till his untimely and sudden death.Your Nani was a very kind and sincere lady, always smiling inspite of many hardships.May Allah rest her Soul in Peace. Ameen.

Leave a comment